June 21, 2024

Nikopol Game

E-Sport News

Worlds 2023: Schedule, results, format, teams, streams

After five years, the League of Legends World Championship (Worlds) returns to South Korea. This pinnacle event of the LoL esports season is scheduled to take place from October to November in the Land of the Morning Calm.

Worlds 2023 brings forth an exciting new format, featuring the Swiss Stage, along with new qualification paths for teams.

Here’s everything you need to know about Worlds 2023, including its schedule, results, format, qualified teams, where to watch livestreams, and more.



What is League of Legends Worlds 2023?

Worlds is the annual League of Legends World Championship. It is organized by developers Riot Games, and it is the largest global tournament in LoL esports.

This year, a total of 22 teams from around the globe will compete for the coveted Summoner’s Cup championship trophy, a million-dollar prize pool, and the 13th world championship title.

Worlds 2023 schedule, standings, and results

Worlds 2023 will take place from October 10 to November 19.

The Play-In Stage will run from October 10 to October 15, while Swiss Stage will run from October 19 to 23, and 26 to 29. All dates and times are in GMT, GMT+8, and PST.

The Knockout Stage is scheduled as follows:

  • Quarterfinals – November 2 to 5
  • Semifinals – November 11 to 12
  • Grand final – November 19

Worlds 2023 Play-In Stage schedule

Round 1

October 10

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
Movistar R7 October 10, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 PSG Talon
LOUD October 10, 3 a.m. PST | 10 a.m. GMT | 6 p.m. GMT+8 GAM Esports

October 11

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
DetonatioN FocusMe October 11, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 CTBC Flying Oyster
TBC October 11, 3 a.m. PST | 10 a.m. GMT | 6 p.m. GMT+8 Team Whales
TBC TBC TBC
TBC TBC TBC

Round 2

October 12

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 12, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC
TBC TBC TBC

October 13

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 13, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC
TBC TBC TBC

October 14

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 14, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC
TBC TBC TBC

Qualifiers

October 15

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 14, 8 p.m. PST | October 15, 3 a.m. GMT | 11 a.m. GMT+8 TBC
TBC October 15, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC
Worlds 2023 championship trophy
Credit: LoL Esports

Worlds 2023 Swiss Stage schedule

Round 1

October 19

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 18, 10 p.m. PST | October 19, 5 a.m. GMT | 1 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Round 2

October 20

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 19, 10 p.m. PST | October 20, 5 a.m. GMT | 1 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Round 3

October 21

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 21, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Round 4

October 22

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 22, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Round 5

October 23

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 23, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

October 26

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 26, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

October 27

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 27, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

October 28

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 28, 12 a.m. PST | 7 a.m. GMT | 3 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

October 29

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC October 28, 9 p.m. PST | October 29, 4 a.m. GMT | 12 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Worlds 2023 Knockout Stage schedule

Quarterfinals

November 2

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 2, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

November 3

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 3, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

November 4

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 4, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

November 5

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 5, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Semifinals

November 11

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 11, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

November 12

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 12, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

Finals

TEAM SCHEDULE TEAM
TBC November 19, 1 a.m. PST | 8 a.m. GMT | 4 p.m. GMT+8 TBC

(To be updated)


Format of Worlds 2023

Samsung Galaxy versus H2K at the 2016 World Championship - Semifinals at Madison Square Garden in New York City, New York, USA on 22 October 2016.
Credit: Colin Young-Wolff/Riot Games

Worlds 2023 will introduce a revised format comprising 22 teams divided into three phases of competition: the Play-In Stage, the Swiss Stage, and the Knockout Stage, which includes the Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Finals.

Worlds 2023 Play-In Stage format

The Play-In stage will launch the tournament, featuring the 1st and 2nd seeds from VCS & PCS, the 1st seed from LLA, CBLOL, LJL, and the victor of the Worlds Qualifying Series between the LCS and LEC 4th seeds.

These eight teams have been grouped into two double-elimination brackets, competing in best-of-three matches. The top team from each bracket will clash with the second-place team from the opposite bracket in a series of best-of-five matches.

The winners of these matches will secure their spots in the Swiss Stage. The initial 10 matches will be best-of-three, while the final two will be best-of-five.

Worlds 2023 Swiss Stage format

The two teams that advance from the Play-In Stage will join the top three seeded teams from the LEC and LCS, along with the top four seeded teams from the LCK and LPL, making a total of 16 teams. These teams will be divided into four draw pools: 1 Seeds, 2 Seeds, 3 Seeds, and 4 Seeds + Play-In Qualifiers.

Initially, they will play eight best-of-one matches based on their seeding, with Pool 1 teams facing Pool 4 teams and Pool 2 teams facing Pool 3 teams. Importantly, no team will compete against a team from their own region in the first round.

After the first round, there will be another draw to pair teams with the same record against each other, without any further draw restrictions. This process will repeat for three more rounds, with teams with even records facing each other until they reach three wins to advance or three losses to be eliminated from the competition.

In total, eight teams will progress to the Knockout Stage. While the initial rounds are best-of-one, all advancement and elimination matches will be best-of-three.

During the Swiss Stage, side selection will be determined by the initial draw pool, with the higher pool receiving side selection. In matches between teams from the same draw pool, side selection will be determined by a coin flip.

Worlds 2023 Knockout Stage format

The tournament progresses to the Knockout Stage, which includes the Quarterfinals, Semifinals, and Finals.

In this stage, the format shifts to single-elimination, and all matches are contested in a best-of-five format. Quarterfinal matchups will be determined through an on-stage draw following the conclusion of the Swiss Stage.

In this draw, teams that advanced with a 3-0 record will be matched against teams that advanced with a 3-2 record, while the remaining teams will face each other. The ultimate victor of this stage will be crowned the 2023 World Champions.

Teams competing at Worlds 2023

REGION TEAM
LCK (Korea) Gen.G (1st seed)
T1 (2nd seed)
KT Rolster (3rd seed)
Dplus KIA (4th seed)
LCS (North America) NRG Esports (1st seed)
Cloud9 (2nd seed)
Team Liquid (3rd seed)
LEC (Europe) G2 Esports (1st seed)
Fnatic (2nd seed)
MAD Lions (3rd seed)
LPL (China) JD Gaming (1st seed)
Bilibili Gaming (2nd seed)
LNG Esports (3rd seed)
Weibo Gaming (4th seed)
PCS (Pacific) PSG Talon (1st seed)
CTBC Flying Oyster (2nd seed)
LJL (Japan) DetonatioN FocusMe
VCS (Vietnam) GAM Esports (1st seed)
Team Whales (2nd seed)
LLA (Latin America) Movistar R7
CBLOL (Brazil) LOUD
Worlds Qualifying Series TBC

(To be updated)

Where will Worlds 2023 be held?

STAGE  LOCATIONS
Play-In Stage  LoL Park in Seoul, South Korea 
Swiss Stage  KBS Arena in Seoul, South Korea 
Knockout Stage: Quarterfinals  Sajik Indoor 
Gymnasium in Busan, South Korea 
Knockout Stage: Semifinals  Sajik Indoor 
Gymnasium in Busan, South Korea 
Knockout Stage: Finals  Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, South Korea 

Where to watch Worlds 2023?

League of Legends esports fans can watch the 2023 World Championship matches live on Riot Games’ official channels on Twitch and YouTube.

Follow ONE Esports on Facebook and Twitter for more LoL news, guides, and highlights.

READ MORE: Arcane started with US$2K budget — now it’s the biggest anime in the world